Many rules and laws about car accidents and insurance claims seem to be designed to make it more difficult for injured people to get the compensation they deserve. One of those rules in Florida is the PIP 14-Day Rule, and it’s something you should know about if you’ve been injured in a car accident. Essentially, the PIP 14-Day Rule in Florida requires people who were injured in an auto accident to seek medical care within 14 days from the date of their accident.
What is PIP?
The PIP 14-Day Rule applies to a specific type of insurance known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP). It is also frequently known as no-fault insurance because it goes into effect no matter who is at fault for an accident.
PIP is designed to help cover expenses like medical costs, wage loss, and possibly even funeral costs. In Florida, PIP generally covers approximately 80% of the costs of any necessary and reasonable medical costs up to $10,000. Florida requires motorists to keep at least $10,000.00 of this insurance coverage.
Why Does the 14-Day Rule Exist?
Florida’s 14-Day Rule requires that any injured victim in a car crash must seek medical care of some kind within 14 days of a car accident to be able to access any PIP benefits provided under the required coverage.
That means if you were in an accident and did not go to a doctor within two weeks of the accident, then Florida says you probably cannot get the $10,000.00 of PIP coverage you have, even though you are already paying for that coverage.
For many people, that window of time seems short and unfair, but that is the law. The result of a rule like this is that many people who have legitimate injuries from an accident but were unable to seek medical attention within that 14-day window miss out on the insurance coverage that they deserve and have consistently been paying for.
How Do You Deal with the Florida PIP 14-Day Rule?
Because you have no way to know for certain if you have any injuries after an accident unless they are so obvious that you can see or feel the injury immediately, your best course of action is to be overly cautious. This means if you have been in any kind of accident, you should go immediately to a doctor, urgent care center, or hospital to get checked out. This may seem like an inconvenience from a time and financial perspective, but it is a necessity for anyone who wants to access the benefits that their PIP coverage offers.
Keep in mind if you have missed the 14-day window and are not eligible for PIP coverage, you may still be eligible to file a personal injury lawsuit for compensation. There are longer statute of limitations periodsfrom the time of the accident to initiate that type of claim. A qualified personal injury lawyer can help you move forward with this course of action and possibly get you the compensation you deserve.
Since 1988, RTRLAW has recovered hundreds of millions of dollars in compensation for tens of thousands of injured clients. Let us help you get the compensation you deserve for your accident.
Our attorneys are available to meet with you over the phone, by video conference, or at one of our 6 convenient offices in Florida, Fort Lauderdale, Orlando, Tampa, Kissimmee, Lake Worth, or by appointment in Miami, Jacksonville and Dallas, Texas. If you can’t come to us, we can come to you – even if you’re in the hospital, or we can take care of all the paperwork electronically via email and text for your convenience.
Pay Nothing Unless We Win Your Case
RTRLAW works on a contingency basis, meaning you pay us nothing unless we win your case and recover money for you.
If you are uncertain about your PIP eligibility, or you have any questions about what to do after an accident, you should contact one of our skilled and experienced personal injury protection attorneys. We can answer all your questions and provide you with clear advice on how to proceed.
Call or text RTRLAW today toll-free at 1-833-HIRE-RTR (1-833-447-3787). Our qualified and experienced personal injury attorneys are here to help you with your PIP questions and your auto accident case.